South Carolina High School Wrestling Records

Updated on May 3, 2018

SC Wrestling Records - Dave Schultz High School Excellence Award annual winners

South Carolina Dave Schultz High School Award winners as awarded by The National Wrestling Hall of Fame:
2018 Jacob Brasseur, Lexington
2017 Noah North, Lugoff-Elgin
2016 Zack Clary, Dorman
2015 Matt Rudy, Cane Bay
2014 Patrick James, West-Oak
2013 Dennis Flores, Hanahan
2012 Jordan Wigger, Summerville
2011 Aaron Hansen, Summerville
2010 Michael Young, Fort Dorchester
2009 Eddie Coles, Eastside
2008 T.T. Prayther, North Myrtle Beach
2007 J.C. Oddo, Eastside 
2006 Matt Leach, Eastside 
2005 David Catoe, Lugoff-Elgin 
2004 Ian Barker, Summerville 
2003 T.J. Selke, Dutch Fork   
2002 Andy King, Fort Mill   
2001 Ryan McClester, Lugoff-Elgin   
2000 Ben Connell, Lugoff-Elgin   (National and Southeast Regional winner as well)
1999 Chris Collins, Rock Hill   
1998 Travis Drake, Cheraw   
1996 Adam Duncan, West-Oak   (Southeast Regional winner as well)
1996 Jason Radecke, Socastee 

Ben Connell became the first S.C. wrestler to achieve the status of being the National Award winner

National Dave Schultz High School Award winners as awarded by The National Wrestling Hall of Fame:
2017 - Daton Fix, Charles Page High School in Oklahoma (Central)
2016 - Mark Hall II, Apple Valley High School in Minnesota (Midwest)
2015 - Zahid Valencia, St. John Bosco High School in California (West)
2014 - Chance Marsteller, Kennard-Dale High School in Pennsylvania (Northeast)
2013 - Zain Retherford, Benton Area High School in Pennsylvania (Northeast)
2012 - Taylor Massa, St. John's High School in Michigan (Midwest)
2011 - Morgan McIntosh, Calvary Chapel High School in California (West)
2010 - Logan Steiber, Monroeville High School in Ohio (Midwest)
2009 - David Taylor, Graham High School in Ohio (Midwest)
2008 - Jason Chamberlain, Springville High School in Utah (West)
2007 - Zach Sanders, Wabasha-Kellogg High School in Minnesota (Midwest)
2006 - David Craig, Brandon High School in Florida (Southeast)
2005 - Troy Nickerson, Chenago Forks High School in New York (Northeast)
2004 - Coleman Scott, Waynesburg Central High School in Pennsylvania (Northeast)
2003 - C.P. Schlatter, St. Paris Graham High School in Ohio (Northern Plains)
2002 - Teyon Ware, Edmond North High School in Oklahoma (Southern Plains)
2001 - Steve Mocco, Blair Academy in New Jersey (Northeast)
2000 - Ben Connell, Lugoff-Elgin High School in South Carolina (Southeast)
1999 - Zach Roberson, Blue Valley Northwest High School in Kansas (Southern Plains)
1998 - Garrett Lowney, Freedom High School in Wisconsin () and Justin Ruiz, Taylorsville High School in Utah (West) 
1997 - Jeff Knupp, Walsh Jesuit High School in Ohio (Northeast)
1996 - David Kjeldgaard, Lewis Central High School in Iowa (Northern Plains) 

National Tricia Saunders High School Award winners as awarded by The National Wrestling Hall of Fame:
2017 - Cierra Foster, Sequatchie County High School, Whitwell, Tennessee
2016 - Katie Brock, Sequatchie County High School, Whitwell, Tennessee
2015 - Marizza Birrueta, Grandview High School, Grandview, Washington
2014 - Marina Doi, Kingsburg High School, Kingsburg, California

Updates to the South Carolina Wrestling Records can be sent to:
Mark Buford -